If I Have A Daughter…

If I Have A Daughter…


I will teach her that beauty is found on the inside of her being where her heart and soul lie.

I will show her that perfection is not something to seek. Rather she should just be the best version of herself she can be.

I will hug and kiss her as many times as I can in a day. To let her know what loving someone feels like.

I will hold her when she cries over her broken heart and sometimes her broken soul.

I will make her laugh so she knows the feeling of utter joy in the form of a sound.


I will let her become who she was meant to be and not a mini version of me.

I will teach her that there is no such thing as normal. That all she needs to worry about is being comfortable in her own skin.

I will give her music, books, and art to encourage and nourish her mind.

I will take and make the time to listen to her thoughts and understand her feelings.

I will dance around the house with her and be silly and free.

I will teach her that no one’s love can replace or overshadow the love she should have for herself.



I will show her that sadness and loneliness are not your enemies. That we all go through pages of them so we can understand and discover ourselves.

I will open the door to the world beyond our eyes. Where music and dreams live.

I will be there for her in every way I can. When she needs a helping hand, tough love, or just a warm hug I will be there with open arms and an open mind.

I will teach her that true friends are the ones you can be a total fool in front of and know they will still love you and have your back.

I will give her a journal and tell her about the freedom in putting thoughts on paper.

I will let her spread her wings and trust that the winds will carry her for me.

If I have a daughter I promise to love her with every breath God gives me.

I promise to let her grow into herself and not try to make her be anyone else.

I promise to be there. Not just when it counts but always. So she knows that she is loved beyond those three words. Beyond anything really…

I promise to do my best to be worthy of the honor of being her mother…

Leave a Reply

