I Asked God…


I Asked God... 







I  asked God to take away my pain.

God said, No.

'It is not  for me to take away,

but for you to give it up.'

I asked  God to make

my handicapped child whole.

God said, No.

'Her  spirit was whole,

her body was only temporary.'





I  asked God to grant me patience.

God said, No.

'Patience  is a byproduct of tribulations;

it isn't granted, it is earned.'

I  asked God to give me happiness.

God said, No.

'I give you  blessings. 

Happiness is up to you.'

I asked God to spare  me pain.





God  said, No.

'Suffering draws you apart from worldly cares

and  brings you closer to me.'

I asked God to make my spirit grow.

God  said, No.

'You must grow on your own, 

but I will prune  you to make you fruitful.'

I asked God for all things

that  I might enjoy life.





God  said, No.

'I will give you life

so that you may enjoy all  things.'

I asked God to help me love others, 

as much as  he loves me.

God said...

'Ahhhh, finally you have the  idea.'


Leave a Reply

